SAAB Motorsport

Saab around Britain R.A.C. Rally (1965)

Moss Carlsson Pat - Nystrom Elisabeth at RAC Rally

R.A.C.  stands for british Royal Automobile Club Rally. The inaugural event was the 1932 Royal Automobile Club Rally, which was the first major rally of the modern era in Great Britain.

Of the 367 crews entered, 341 competitors in unmodified cars started from nine different towns and cities (London, Bath, Norwich, Leamington, Buxton, Harrogate, Liverpool, Newcastle upon Tyne and Edinburgh.) 

Scandinavian (SAAB) successes in  R.A.C. Rally

Scandinavian drivers have enjoyed rich pickings in the RAC Rally. Home drivers won the first six runnings of the race from 1953, when an outright winner was first declared.

However, in 1960 Erik Carlsson of Sweden drove his Saab 96 Sport to a hat-trick of victories in 1960–62, and of the six drivers to have won three or more titles since then, all but three – Colin McRae (1994, ’95, ’97), Richard Burns (1998–2000), and Sébastien Loeb (2008–10) – have been Swedes, Finns or Norwegians.

The record for most victories is four, shared by Hannu Mikkola (1978–79, ’81–82) and Petter Solberg (2002–05), whose consecutive streak is unique.

R.A.C. Rally  1965

In 1965 the RAC Rally (video) was attended by 7 Saab crewLarsson Jerry – Lundblad LarsCarlsson Erik – Åhman TorstenMoss-Carlsson Pat – Nyström ElisabethJohansson Bertil – Kruger J. , Lund Hans – Wahlgren BjörnAndersson OveAndersson Åke with Saab 96 Sport: